Home > Fuzon > Fuzon: Khamaj: The Video

Fuzon: Khamaj: The Video

The song and it’s beauty led me to the video. The quality of the video compliments the song and its words. The striking thing about the video is the almost same script as the Guru Dutt film, Kagaz ke Phool, starring Guru Dutt and Waheeda Rehman. Not the same in effect, no doubt. What Guru Dutt achieved in about 3hrs of Kagaz ke Phool cannot equate in effect to the five minutes of the Khamaj video.

I searched the web for some more information about the director / cinematographer, half expecting to see that someone associated or linked to Kagaz ke Phool may have created, or rather, re-created this video.

I came across a very detailed and informative review by Muniba Kamal, writing in ‘The News International’, Pakistan. The full article is posted on another website, which follows Pakistani Pop Culture, called PakiPop.

Excerpts from the article:

At the end of the day, “Khamaj” is a miniature of the first half of “Kaagaz Ke Phool”. The scenes with Zara Sheikh coming in for audition is reminiscent of Waheeda Rehman walking into the studios for the first time. The original shots are those of the choreographer and Zara dancing together. The premiere of “Khamaj” is almost a carbon copy of the one Guru Dutt had created for his magnum opus, right down to Zara Sheikh’s dress, which Faiza Samee has remade with a bit more glitter than the original. The five-minute film deviates from the script of “Kaagaz Ke Phool”, where Guru Dutt has an accident, but does not die, instead Waheeda tries to nurse him back to health, he turns her away and survives to become an embittered man only dying in old age. This gives him the chance to pose dramatically while the gorgeous Kaifi Azmi song “Dekhi Zamaane Ki Yaari, Bichchde Sab Hi Baari Baari” plays on. In “Khamaj”, Shaan dies right after dropping Zara Sheikh off from the premiere. But then death comes quicker in five-minute videos.

Related entry: Fuzon: Khamaj – A nice bit of music

Categories: Fuzon
  1. August 31, 2007 at 6:38 am

    I see the similarities between the two. Very nice song. I am now going to listen to Amanat’s version. Like that one better I think. 😛 Btw, is it only me or the gal really looks like young Noor Jehan – specially her eyes?

  2. pankaj
    October 21, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    i would like to download khamaj by fisuon…so pls if u can send me the link frm where i can dwnload it..it will b really nice of u…

  3. Rakesh
    October 23, 2007 at 11:40 am

    @ Pankaj,

    I am glad you enjoyed the song. Very few people I know, have said that they do not like the song.

    I will send you the song file to the email you have commented with. Would appreciate a note, here in comments to confirm receipt.

    Thank you for stopping by ~TimePass~ and look forward to more visits.

  4. July 21, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    I will like to download khamaj by Fuzon.I have seen kagaz ke phool and khamaj video.Both are very close to my heart.So kindly send me link from where I can download video.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment